Pleated Cable Summer Sweater – The Swatch

Summer Sweater

April was a brutal month of non-stop work.  Now that I finally have my first free weekend in months, it’s time to knit!

In my last post, I mentioned that I’ve been really inspired by the designs coming out of Balmain.  I’ve been wanting to make a summer sweater and have a pot-load of designs that I’ve drawn up over the past few weeks.  I have an entire series of related sweaters that I’ve drawn in my notebook that I want to work on.   I thought I’d start with something relatively simple for the first sweater in the series and branch out from there.

I bought a few different types of cotton and cotton-blended yarns and made about seven swatches.  While I really like Cascade’s Pima Cotton yarn, I ended up deciding to use Universal Yarn’s Bamboo Pop for the first project.

The swatch above is in the Strawberry color of Bamboo Pop.  I ended up buying yarn for the project, though, in Rose as I’m so pale that the Strawberry color would sort of blend in to my skin color.

It’s pretty easy to see that the box pleats were inspired by Balmain.  Since I rarely seem to make a simple sweater design, I’ve spent the past couple of days working on all the math.  I’ve also considered using multiple sizes of needles on the project, which meant more swatches.  I’ve definitely been a swatching fool lately as there’s nothing worse than spending hours working on something only to have it not fit when it’s finished.

So, I think I’m ready to start knitting!  I’m so excited to start working on this 🙂

Happy knitting, everyone!

This entry was posted in Design Updates, Patterns For Sale and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

