I’ve Become Obsessed

Balmain Jacket

I’ve never been a person that’s been a big follower of the fashion world, but I have to admit – lately, I’ve become obsessed with the fashion house Balmain.

I don’t know if it’s an oxymoron, but I’ve never been a person obsessed with fashion, which may be a little odd for someone who designs knitwear. Don’t get me wrong, I love to dress up and look nice when the occasion calls for it, but I spend most of my life in sweats or jeans and a t-shirt. I don’t go anywhere fancy anymore, unfortunately. I’ve always loved beautiful sweaters, though, so I love to make my own that are tailor-made just for my tall, long-armed self.

With that in mind, I’m always looking for inspiration for a sweater to design or for my handbag line. While I was looking at pictures from the latest Fashion Week, I discovered Balmain. Of course, I had to do a little research.

Balmain has gone through a few transitions over the years. It originally began with designs that were simple, tailored, and stylish. About a decade ago, they had a “star designer” who shifted their style completely to something everyone called “rocker chic.” Starting in 2011, a man named Olivier Rousteing took over as the head designer. It’s Mr. Rousteing’s work that I have fallen completely in love with.

Balmain has kept the classic clothing shapes, but uses beautiful fabrics, stunning fabric designs, and little extra do-dads that I can’t get enough of. The shirt or jacket or whatever you want to call it that I posted above, to me, is just amazingly beautiful. The collective of Mr. Rousteing’s work has just set my mind on fire. For the past week, I’ve been drawing picture after picture designing sweater after sweater and handbag after handbag. It’s been such a fun week for me, as I can’t remember the last time I was this inspired!

What inspires you? Is it a place? Or nature? Or another designer? And what do you do in order to become inspired?

I wish you all a great weekend! Happy knitting 🙂

This entry was posted in Craft Business, Design Updates and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

