When A License Is Not A License

DSC_4160
I finally finished my University of Kentucky clutch! There’s a store nearby me that sells only UK goods, so I thought I’d see if they would like to carry my clutch in their store. The response was something I didn’t expect.

Given that I work 6 days a week now, I decided to run over to The Kentucky Store on my lunch break. I figured business would be slow then, so I’d have time to talk to the owner. I get there and they were a LOT busier than I expected. So, I walked around the store, looked at all the t-shirts and other lovely things they had and waited for an opening.

After about 10 minutes, they were finally slow enough for me to talk to the owner. He was a lovely guy and listened nicely to my short sales pitch – make in Kentucky, by a Kentuckian, and by a former UK graduate. He looked at the clutch, said it was nice, but he had a problem.

I went out of my way to buy a brooch that was licensed. I also made sure that the fabric I used for the lining was licensed. However, his concern was that, while the pieces were licensed, the overall finished clutch was NOT licensed. So, in the interest of being safe and not running into trouble, he passed.

Honestly, I hadn’t thought that transforming the pieces into a new whole could cause a licensing issue. I’m not sure if it’s an issue or not. The owner didn’t know either! I was so careful about the licensing thing and I STILL ran into licensing problems. I’ve looked into university licensing before and they only sell licenses to big manufacturers. They won’t even talk to small businesses like mine.

So, I guess I’m going to have to ask a favor of an attorney friend of mine to find out what the answer is. Definitely a road block in my way that I want to find a way around. University goods are big business. I’d love to get a piece of that pie.

Have any of you run into licensing issues before? If so, how did you handle it?

I hope you are having a great day! Happy knitting!

This entry was posted in Craft Business, Handbags For Sale and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

