When Work Interferes With Knitting

UK-Lining

I’m working so much lately that it’s interfering with my knitting. And my blogging!

While I’ve been trying to get my fiber business off the ground, I took a part-time job at a local CPA firm to make ends meet. However, I agreed to work full-time during tax season. Of course, once I started working full-time doing taxes is when I started getting a bunch of custom knitting orders! Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining, it’s just that there are only so many hours in a day and social media ended up with the short end of the stick.

So, what’s been going on? I FINALLY made my first sale on Etsy! Yeah!!! However, the lovely lady wanted a custom-made clutch, not something I already had ready in the store. She wanted a clutch that was bigger than the ones in my store. I’ve been wondering about the sizes of my clutches, so it was good feedback to hear someone want something bigger. Fortunately, she made the order on a Friday night, so I spent that night and the next day knitting up the clutch and felting it.

While the clutch was drying, I got an order to make a cowl. I still haven’t started working on that yet as I needed to finish up my custom Etsy order and also finish up the UK clutch shown above, in which a local store showed interest. I just finished hand-sewing in the lining of the UK purse, so I thought I’d take a moment and let you all know that I’m still alive and well. Just working from 8 am until midnight every night leaves little time for anything else!

I can’t wait until tax season is over so I can go back and truly focus on my knitting. I haven’t designed anything new in a while and I have a lot of pages in my notebook that I’d like to try. There simply isn’t enough hours in the day to knit for fun.

So, I hope things are going well with all of you. Happy knitting!

This entry was posted in Craft Business and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

