The Quirk in Polyvore

Yellow and Gray Winter Wonderland

Polyvore.com can be a great place to get your products noticed in a relatively short period of time and to a lot of people. However, there is one BIG thing that they don’t tell you about the site.

From The Beginning

I discovered Polyvore from a social media friend who uses it to promote her jewelry. In Polyvore, you set up an account, “clip” your products (in my case, from Etsy) into your “items,” and then make “sets” out of your and other people’s items. Up above is an example of a set that I made with my gray clutch and someone else’s dress, shoes, necklace and earrings.  If you click on any item, it will link you back to where it is sold.

When I first started, I made a few sets, then people started “liking” and commenting on the posts. I liked and made comments on their sets and vice versa. Then people started using my clutches in their sets (which is a wonderful moment, btw). What started out as a few people using my clutches turned into 50-100 people a day including my clutches in their sets.

As long as the number of people using my clutches in their sets was small, it was pretty easy to thank people for including my handbags in their sets, to go to their sets, and like and comment back. However, when it exploded to 100 people a day doing that, especially around Christmas when I was busy trying to knit my presents, I found that I couldn’t keep up! I also found that I lost people looking at my items.  I’m not sure how I managed to screw up so badly, but no one has been using my items in their sets since Christmas.

Cut to: The Leisurely Style Blog

If you’ve been following this blog, you know that Houda, from The Leisurely Style blog, included one of my clutches in a set on Polyvore, then posted it into her blog post. Yeah, someone likes me! They really like me! (Hopefully, some of you remember Sally Field saying that when she won an Oscar so the joke doesn’t fall flat!)

In my excitement, I posted the link to The Leisurely Style on my Facebook page. My sister, bless her, went to Houda’s blog, clicked on the set, then again on my clutch, and followed it back to my Etsy shop. Next thing I know, I get a message from her asking if my clutch was sold?  I checked – no, I still had one. Then came the bombshell – Polyvore said that my clutch was sold out! NOOOOOOOOOO!!!!

So, I recreated the actions my sister followed. Soon enough, I’m looking at my Etsy page saying it was sold out.  I mean, what I saw from the link looked JUST like my REAL Etsy page except that it said my clutch was sold out.  I go directly to my Etsy shop listings, and it says that I have one available. Then I went back to Polyvore and tried the links to all of my clutches. They all said “sold out.” WTF???

The Quirk in Polyvore

After a lot of panic and endless internet searches, I discovered that if an item isn’t “used” in some unspecified period of time, the link disappears and says that your item is “sold out.” It does this even if the item ISN’T sold out.

I still haven’t figured out what “used” means. Used in someone else’s set on Polyvore? Sold on Etsy? I’d also love to know why Polyvore changes my item to say “sold out.”  Why not “inactive?” Or better yet, why not leave it alone? And how much time do I have before this happens again? If anyone has any idea, I’d love to know the answers to these questions!

The Fix

I discovered that I had to re-clip my items from Etsy back into Polyvore to make the link active again. It clips right back to the same place so you don’t lose your “likes.” Unfortunately, you lose ALL of your tags. So, you have to re-tag everything all over again. Re-doing all the tags was what took me so long to re-activate every link.

Bottom Line

The good news is that I only had 20 handbags on my Etsy site. The bad news is that it took me about two hours to re-clip and tag all of my items on Polyvore all over again. Needlessly, in my opinion.

Who knows if I lost any sales of my handbags from this ridiculous policy. If you followed any link from Polyvore to my Etsy store, it looked like I sold out everything and had nothing available.  Sigh.

So, if any of you have items on Polyvore that link back to Etsy or some other sales site, you may want to check out your links!

Have a great weekend and happy knitting!

This entry was posted in Craft Business, Small Business Marketing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Quirk in Polyvore

  1. BluKatDesign says:

    I was wondering what the deal was! I will try reclipping! Thanks so much for featuring my jewelry!

  2. Pingback: The Quirk in Polyvore | BluKatKraft: Art and Craft Blog

Leave a Reply

