A Stitch In Time Takes Me All Day

Old sewing machine

This weekend was all about sewing. I’ve been avoiding it for a while, but I couldn’t wait any longer, as I have purses that need linings. So, I broke out my borrowed sewing machine and set myself to task. All I can say is… I’m no seamstress.

I never had home economics when I was younger. Due to strange schedules, I had my choice of being in the band (which I’d already been in for years), or taking home economics. At the time, it seemed like a no brainer to take band. Through many hilarious mishaps, I taught myself to cook. However, sewing is something I never learned. So, I’ve been trying to sew linings for my purses, learning as I go, and it’s been as painful as you can imagine.

Since my purses come in various sizes, there’s no pattern out there for me to follow. I have to measure my purses and come up with my own patterns. Ironically, I can sew a straight line. However, what I can’t seem to do is thread the sewing machine properly or set the thread tension so that the thread doesn’t break on me every four inches into a project. I also can’t seem to choose the correct type of thread (or maybe that’s just a tension issue, too!) I’ll let you use your imagination of the funniest comedy moment of me trying to stitch a sewn-in zipper for a pocket.

While I have managed to come up with my linings, it definitely isn’t something I can just whip out. It can take me 6-8 hours to create a lining with two open pockets on one side and a zippered pocket on the other. An experienced seamstress could do it in a hour or two, I’m certain. I realize my lack of expertise in this area, however, I can’t seem to find anyone who will sew them for me (and yes, I would pay someone!). So, I continue to spend hours, meticulously agonizing over every machined stitch.

The good news is that some day, I will be able to hire a full-time seamstress.  The bad news is that day isn’t here yet!

I hope you’re having a great day!  Happy knitting!

This entry was posted in Craft Business and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

