The Very First Sweater I Ever Knit

first knitted sweater

I don’t know what made me think of it, but I started thinking about my very first sweater.  As in, the first sweater I knit – ever.  I had to practically tear my house apart trying to find it, but find it I did!  (Bless my Mom for holding on to it all these years.)

my first sweaterSo, yes… you can go ahead and laugh!  It’s not a masterpiece, I know.  My 3rd grade teacher, Mrs. Hopper, taught me how to knit.  She started an after-school program to teach anyone who wanted how to knit.  There were about 15 of us, both boys and girls.  She knit the ribbing, bound off for the entire sweater and armholes, and sewed it together for us.  Basically, all I did was straight knitting and purling.  She did all the hard stuff.  But I was 8 years old, so I don’t go too hard on myself.

It’s riddled with mistakes (I circled a bunch for you in case you didn’t see them!), but I was pretty proud of myself for finishing it.  I didn’t touch a knitting needle again until my sister took Mrs. Hopper’s knitting class the following year.  She never finished her sweater, so I did it for her.  I haven’t put down my needles since.  Who knew that decades later, what she taught me would become my dream business?

Do any of you have a hobby that you love so much that you’d love to make it your dream business?  Or have you already taken the leap and done it?  And who taught you?

Thanks for sharing your stories.  Happy knitting!

This entry was posted in Craft Business, Knitting Fun and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

