Blue Is The New White When It Comes To Photography

Six Beliefs

I feel like I’ve been on a roll lately with my photography.  So, I decided to take the plunge and work on photographing my zipper pulls.  As you can see from the pictures, I’m not sure what to think.

I absolutely love zipper pulls.  I put them on practically everything.  I definitely put them on the purses I make that have zippers.  However, photographing them has become the bane of my existence.  Despite my best efforts, the background always looks blue, even though I photograph them against a white background.  In this case, I took the pictures against a white fabric that had tiny silver stars all over it.  The fabric looks blue and the stars look gray.  Sigh.

I’ve tried three different cameras and used three different backgrounds.  I’ve even used two different types of lenses on my fancy camera.  I photographed in the shade of a sunny day.  I’ve taken pictures in bright sunlight.  Today was slightly overcast, so I tried that as well.  Every single time, the white background comes out blue.  Double sigh.

I guess the best that I can hope for is that the zipper pull itself looks good in the pictures.  Do you all have any suggestions on how to make the white background actually look white?  Or does it matter?

Thank you for your opinions and happy knitting!

This entry was posted in Craft Business and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blue Is The New White When It Comes To Photography

  1. LondonPixie says:

    With your photos I think Believe and Love look really good. I like the background, I think it works with the silver of the zipper pulls. And by the way, the photos really attracted me to your blog and made me have a look around the rest of it.
    All the photos on my blog are against a wooden table. I think it looks ok.

    • JoJo says:

      Thank you so much for your help! I’m glad the photos look good to you. I guess when you see the fabric in person, then see it in photos, you can’t help but want the two to look the same! Maybe a table or other surface would look better. I’ll try that next!

Leave a Reply

