Pictures Are A Good Thing

Website Photo 4

When people hear that I’m trying to start my own business, the first question they ask is… what do I do?  When I say that I make original, hand knitted then felted purses and eReader/tablet covers I can see in their eyes that they don’t really get it.  They understand completely when I add that I also design knitwear patterns for individual knitters, but not everyone has seen a felted purse before.

So, the next logical question is … do I have pictures?  Up until now, I’ve had to show people little, and not very good, pictures on my phone.  The quality of the pictures haven’t been anything to inspire anyone to want to buy anything.  It’s been somewhat embarrassing.

After Sunday’s photo shoot,  I FINALLY have some pictures I can use and post.   Practically everything regarding starting a business has been new to me.  The advertising/social media aspect has definitely been the most difficult, not only because of the photography issue, but I have to learn all the software and techniques to create something professional looking.

I admire small business owners more and more everyday as I go through the start-up process and realize just how little I know outside of simply knitting.  Of course, I could have hired people and had it all done by now, but that would have cost me a lot of money I don’t really have.  I may be crazy, but I want to learn how to do these things myself.

Armed with photos in hand, I’ve been working for the past couple of days on a decent photo montage for advertising and publicity purposes.  I’m sure a 10 year old could have done it faster, but I had to learn the software first.  This may be a terrible montage, but I was so proud of myself for actually struggling through the process and doing it!

So, what do you think?  Does this look like a professional montage to you?  Is there anything that bugs you or that you think I should change?  Any opinions, good or bad, would be very much appreciated.

Thanks for your help!  Happy knitting!

This entry was posted in Craft Business and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

